When Ray Price joined Armstrong Teasdale in 2012, he had served the longest term of any judge on the Missouri Supreme Court. Since his return to private practice, Ray has tried a number of jury and nonjury trials, argued numerous appeals, and served as a mediator, arbitrator, and court appointed master in various civil and administrative cases. Ray's practice has included litigation of claims involving class actions, mass torts, product liability, pharmaceutical liability, environmental regulation, land use, administrative, governmental, and complex business issues.

While on the court, Price served two terms as chief justice—only the fourth judge to do so since the adoption of the Missouri Court Plan in 1940. In his 20 years on the bench, Ray authored more than 300 published opinions dealing with almost every aspect of Missouri law including class actions, merchandising practices, noncompetition agreements, arbitration clauses, insurance, products liability, toxic torts, medical malpractice, defamation, land use, premises liability, condemnation trusts and estates, and state taxation. During his term, Ray championed the development of drug courts and criminal sentencing reform. He also served on a number of national boards that focus on improving the education of judges in science and economics. 

Prior to his appointment to Missouri’s highest court in 1991, Ray was a business litigation attorney for 14 years at a major Kansas City-based law firm. He represented clients in state and federal court cases involving class actions, officers and directors’ liability, securities, trade secrets, non-competition agreements, distribution agreements, insurance, products liability, land use condemnation, administrative law and general commercial transactions.


  • Washington and Lee University School of Law  (J.D., cum laude, 1978)
  • Yale University  (1975)
    • Rockefeller Fellow
  • University of Iowa  (B.A., with distinction, 1974)
    • Religion


  • Missouri
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Missouri
  • U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri

Professional Activities

  • The Missouri Bar
  • Theodore McMillian American Inns of Court, Master Member (2013-2015)
  • Searle Civil Justice Institute
  • National Courts Science Institute
  • ASTAR, Advanced Science & Technology Adjudication Resource Center
  • Missouri Drug Court Commission (Chairman, 2001-Present)
  • National Association of Drug Court Professionals (Chairman, 2009-2011)
  • National Conference of Chief Justices (1999-2001 and 2009-2011)
  • GL. v. Zumwalt monitoring committee, U.S. District Court for the Western District of Missouri (1985-1987)

Charitable and Civic Involvement

  • Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners (1985-1989)
  • Truman Medical Center, Kansas City (Executive Committee and Board of Directors, 1987-1992)
  • Merit Selection Committee for U.S. Marshall, Western District of Missouri (Chairman, 1989)


  • Spirit of Justice Award,Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis (2015)
  • The Best Lawyers in America®; Administrative/Regulatory LawCommercial Litigation, Ethics and Professional Responsibility Law (2014-present)
  • Obtained #4 defense verdict in Missouri for role in a products liability case brought against TASER International Inc. (2012)
  • Spurgeon Smithson Award, The Missouri Bar (2012)
  • Award of Judicial Excellence, Lawyers Association of St. Louis (2012)
  • Champion of Justice Award, Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis (2012)
  • Herbert Harley Award, American Judicature Society (2012)
  • Theodore McMillian Judicial Excellence Award, The Missouri Bar (2011)
  • Chief Justice Richard Holmes Award of Merit, American Judges Association (2011)
  • Stanley Goldstein Hall of Fame Award, National Association of Drug Court Professionals (2011)
  • Legacy Award, Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association (2011)
  • President's Award, The Missouri Bar (2010)
  • Harold Hughes Exceptional Service Award, National Rural Alcohol and Drug Abuse Network (2007)
  • The Claire McCaskill Award, Missouri Association of Drug Court Professionals (2006)
  • Robert Walston Chubb Award, Legal Services of Eastern Missouri (2001)
  • Distinguished Non-Alumnus Award, University of Missouri School of Law (1996)
  • Individual Winner, Burks Moot Court Competition, Washington and Lee University School of Law (1976)
  • Burkes Teaching Fellowship, Washington and Lee University School of Law (1977-1978)
  • Hancher-Finkbine Undergraduate Award, University of Iowa (1974)
  • Phi Beta Kappa national undergraduate academic honors society
  • Omicron Delta Kappa national leadership honor society